BTA condemns Jolo bombings; Bangsamoro Government to provide aid

COTABATO CITY: The Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) approved Thursday, August 27, a resolution condemning the twin bombings last August 24 in heavily populated areas in downtown Jolo, Sulu.

Moreover, Member of Parliament (MP) Amir Mawallil, the proponent of Proposed Resolution No. 289, suggested that cash assistance can be immediately provided to the families of the bombing victims which accounted for 14 fatalities and injured at least 78 individuals, including government troops.

“An initial news report said that the Ministry of Social Services and Development (MSSD) will respond to those displaced, the victims, and the survivors of the recent bombing,” Mawallil said.

“Some of those who were affected and those who survived have the problem of how they’re going back to their livelihood, since some of them are selling on the streets when the incident happened,” Mawallil added.

The said resolution was authored by MPs Hatimil Hassan, Amir Mawallil, Eddie Alih, Abraham Burahan, Don Mustapha Loong, Atty. Jose Lorena, Al-Syed Sali, Atty. Laisa Alamia, Atty. Nabil Tan, Adzfar Usman, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Rasul Ismael, and Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr.

“The entire parliament is one with this resolution condemning the twin bombing in downtown Jolo, Sulu,” MP Ziaur-Rahman Adiong stated, who was the Speaker of the Day during the said session.

In addition to the support from the MSSD, it can also be recalled that after the unfortunate explosions, the Bangsamoro Government facilitated to offer assistance for the medical expenses of the victims through the Ayudang Medikal Mula sa Bangsamoro Government (AMBAG) Program of the Office of the Chief Minister.

Meanwhile, a resolution “expressing profound sympathy” to the late Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) Undersecretary Dimasangcay Alangadi Pundato (Proposed Resolution No. 286) was approved during the said session.

The parliament also covered three committee reports, including the creation of the Bangsamoro Sports Commission (Committee Substitute Bill No. 52), an act institutionalizing policy for Bangsamoro overseas employment (Parliament Bill No. 36), and the special committee report on Marawi.

(Bureau of Public Information/BARMM/SRNY/RSP)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s