Davao business chamber elects new set of officers


A renowned medical practitioner and business personality has been elected anew as the new president of Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (DCCCII).

In a statement from the chamber furnished The Ranao Star, Dr. Maria Lourdes Monteverde, former president of Davao Medical Society and former governor of the Philippine Medical Association (PMA)-Southern Mindanao, was unanimously elected as the chamber’s new president during the annual election of trustees held virtually on Saturday, December 5, 2020.

She served as the president of DCCCII from 2011 to 2012 and held a variety of roles both in the field of medicine and real estate. She is a member and convener of Consular Corps of the Philippines in Mindanao and Davao Chapter, the founder of Philippine Real Estate Service – Davao Chapter, the National Committee Chairperson on Economic Zone Development in the Philippines under the Chamber of Real Estate and Builders Association (CREBA), a Certified International Property Specialist, and the Immediate Past President of Ambassador Club – Davao. Currently, she is the Honorary Consul of Mexico to the Philippines in Mindanao. She is also the incumbent president of the National Ambassadors Club of the Philippines.

Other officers elected were Bernard Benedicto (Berben Merchant, Inc.) as Executive Vice President; Engr. Rodger Velasco (Davao Light and Power, Inc.) as Vice President for Industry; incumbent chamber president John Carlo Tria as Vice President for Trade and Commerce; Art Gerald Perez (Bank of the Philippine Islands) as Vice President for Professional and Service Ventures; Jennifer Dumlao (SVLand Corp.) as Corporate Secretary; and Marilou Ampuan (Bloomers Travel and Tours and Bloomers Goldsmith and Marketing) Corporate Treasurer.

Newly-elected trustees Atty. Myra Quilatan (ACCRA Law Office) and Cherry Faye Al-ag (CFBA Travel Station) will join the incumbent Board of Trustees which also include former chamber presidents Antonio dela Cruz and Simeon Marfori II, Al Balagot (Balagot & Co.), Yvonne Cabada (CCTechnologies & Allies Services), Engr. Remegio Salanatin (RG Salanatin Construction, Inc.), and Roland Suico (Zilverband Inc.).

Former chamber president Joji Ilagan-Bian led the first-ever online election of trustees and officers, which ran for almost eight hours via Zoom. Chamber members, however, had the option to cast their votes manually provided that they follow the safety and health protocols set by DCCCII.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s