De La Salle-Lipa makes finals of Int’l Green Gown Awards

MANILA: De La Salle Lipa (DLSL) has made it to the finals of the 2020 International Green Gown Awards, becoming the only higher educational institution named finalist in all three categories — Sustainability Institution of the Year, Student Engagement and Benefitting Society.

The International Green Gown Awards (IGGA) is open to colleges and universities across the globe that commemorate landmark sustainability programs and initiatives.

DLSL is a staunch advocate of environmental and sustainability efforts as well as pioneered programs that should be emulated by other educational institutions in the country.

It is a styro-free and plastic-free campus, banning the use of Styrofoam and polyethylene terephthalate (PET) plastic bottles, both of which do not decompose and thus can damage our ecosystem. Also, part of DLSL’s advocacy is to minimize the use of greenhouse gases.

The 2020 International Green Gown Awards is under the auspices and supported by the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) in cooperation with the UK-based EAUC Alliance for Sustainability Leadership in Education and the Paris-based International Association of Universities (IAU). De La Salle Lipa is an active institutional member of both organizations.

Backed by the UNEP, the International Green Gown Awards continues to search for inspirational sustainability prime movers and leaders.

Acknowledging exceptional sustainability initiatives being carried out by the world’s universities and colleges, the International Green Gown Awards established the desired standards of quality and put every learning institution at the core of delivering the UN Global Goals.

Organizers collaborate with The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), L’Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF), International Association of Universities (IAU) and the Higher Education Sustainability Initiative. The International Green Gown Awards is administered by the Environmental Association for Universities and Colleges (EAUC).

Winners will be announced on July 8, 2020 in a virtual ceremony. For more information, check out the IGGA website at 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s